Gluten free, sugar free Belgian waffles

This morning, for my cheat meal brunch, I decided to take my favorite Belgian waffle recipe and make it gluten and sugar free. This is not an overly sweet Belgian waffle recipe to begin with, the original recipe only calls for 2 T of confectioner’s sugar for 8 servings, so I warn you in advance if you like a super sweet waffle then you’re going to be disappointed!

Belgian waffles

Ingredients

1/3 cup almond flour*
1/3 cup coconut flour*
1/3 cup quinoa flour*
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon powdered stevia (I prefer stevia in the raw)
1/2 tablespoon coconut oil
1 cup unsweetened almond milk (or other diary free milk)
1/3 cup water
1 egg white and 2 egg yolks, separated
1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 scoop unflavored/unsweetened protein powder (optional. I use isopure unflavored whey protein)

* or sub 1 cup all-purpose gluten free flour

flours

Directions

Combine the flours, baking powder, stevia, oil, milk, water, and egg yolks.

Beat the egg white and vanilla until they stand in soft peaks. Fold into the batter (do not over mix). Mixture will be a bit thicker than a wheat flour batter.

mixture

Pour 1/4 of the mixture into each side of a hot waffle iron (assuming it’s like mine & makes two waffles at once) and bake for about 2 minutes. My waffle iron has a light that goes off when the waffle is done.

batter

waffle maker

Repeat with the remaining batter. Makes 4 servings (aka 4 waffles. What you see pictured is 2 servings.)

Top with your favorite fruit, fruit spread, nut butter, butter, maple syrup, basically whatever you like on waffles. Since I happened to have Fiordifrutta organic fruit spread in Strawberries & Wild Strawberries from my April Love with Food box that I’ve been excited to try, I topped mine with that!

fruit spread

finished

The Verdict

I was actually really surprised at how well these turned out! They were really fluffy, slightly chewy, and turned out better than the recipe did with wheat flour. The Fiordifrutta spread was tasty, but because of the waffles not being sweet themselves, I think I would’ve done better saving it and topping the waffles with maple syrup. Live and learn! The Fiordifrutta spread was a bit like a syrup in consistency however, so if it had been more than a sample it probably would’ve worked better. This cheat meal was definitely worth the work! I ate the waffles with scrambled egg whites and a morningstar farms veggie sausage, since this was brunch.

The great thing about these waffles is that they freeze REALLY well (at least the wheat flour recipe does!) When I have made these in the past with wheat flour, I usually freeze the extras in a gallon sized ziplock bag and then eat them just like a store-bought frozen waffle. Pop it in the toaster and you’re good to go. I am freezing the uneaten waffles from this batch, so I will report back on how they do!

Note: the original recipe link does contain nutrition info. I did not crunch the numbers on this, partially because it was a cheat meal and partially because I just didn’t want to go to the effort of it! If you try this recipe, comment and tell me what you think!

Printer friendly recipe here!

yum

brunch

One thought on “Gluten free, sugar free Belgian waffles

Leave a Reply

