Diet bet! Jumpstarting 2016.

Over on Instagram (follow me! @healthyfoodwhore) I saw Big Girl Fit Girl is hosting a Diet Bet. After a few months of false starts, where I work out and eat right consistently for a few days to a week and then completely slack off my workouts (I eat pretty healthily most of the time) I really need something to kick start my workouts. Or really, to kick start me staying consistent with my workouts. January is a tough month for me to get healthy, because it is my birthday month, so I am bombarded with “free dessert” emails from restaurants, not to mention everyone taking me out to restaurants to celebrate! I’m also going on a four day road trip to celebrate my birthday and see my favorite band, Tool. The temptation to eat poorly is doubly worse when traveling, because healthy options can be difficult to find. However, since I am a pescatarian, I am already used to having limited places to eat on the road. I also found a wonderful app that I have yet to use, called “Food Tripping.” I believe I saw this in Health magazine. According to their website, Food Tripping “locates the closest eateries, juice joints, farmers’ markets, microbreweries, and more.” I’m excited to see how this will work, not to mention that in rural Mississippi, Alabama, and Texas there just aren’t a lot of healthy places to eat. Sometimes the only vegetable options that are available anywhere are fried. 😦

Even before I made the diet bet, I had decided to give up sugar for the month of January, except for one dessert whenever I celebrate my birthday. Even though the doctors at work are healthy guys, they brought us chocolate covered pretzels (a 2 pound box!) and a caramel corn assortment, some of which were chocolate covered. A coworker brought in leftover pumpkin cheesecake from Christmas because if she kept it in the house she would eat it all herself. My secret santa bought me a bag of peppermint white chocolate pretzels and a bag of mini reeces cups (In my defense, I only eat a few reeces cups per day…) and to top it all off I made 4 dozen chocolate chip cookies on Christmas Eve! I know the holidays tend to be a time where we eat poorly, but I feel like I lost what little self-control I had in some of those cases. Even though the cookies were for everyone in the family, I’m kind of ashamed at how many I personally consumed. Beating one’s self up does no good however, all we can do is get up, brush ourselves off, and shake off that food coma with a workout. I’m really excited to have made this diet bet, I don’t want to pay $35 to sit on my ass and slack off.

weight

My DietBet profile! If you’re on DietBet, even if you’re not doing Big Girl Fit Girl’s challenge, friend me. It never hurts to have extra accountability. I’m excited that so far one of my local friends has signed up for the diet bet, so we will both have some support that’s not just internet based.

How do you plan to get healthier in 2016? Comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

