Jeffree Star Alternative Press Magazine cover and Summer 2016 Collection Velour Liquid Lipstick Limited Edition

Jeffree Star Issues a Statement on Racism Videos From His Past But Is He Still Racist?

It’s funny that this was timed this way but I actually took issue with someone using Jeffree Star to drive traffic to their website while claiming to take issue with him and the way that he acts. Usually I don’t say things to strangers, I have a very strong facebook rule of: “don’t argue with strangers on the internet.” Occasionally I am moved to break my rule and I was not rude, I just said that I felt like that was hypocritical. If there are people I don’t like or don’t respect, you will not see me making money or trying to get hits off their name, that just leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

Do you condone racism?

Every time a release gets closer, the “I don’t buy Jeffree Star products because he is a racist” comments start. My boyfriend asked me what happened that people say that, because I am a very open and accepting person and I do not tolerate racism, sexism, heterosexism, homophobia, xenophobia, religious persecution, etc etc etc in my life. I am a social worker and we are educated to serve ALL people and to actually overcome whatever prejudices we have. That’s actually part of the social work curriculum. My boyfriend thought that it didn’t really make sense, knowing me, so I of course went to YouTube and watched a video with him. It’s a great video and I do recommend it.

Kat Blaque video Is Jeffree Star racist

Jeffree Star never apologized for racist video

One of the things that Kat Blaque says, and I do hope you watched her whole video because I do recommend it, she is not a Jeffree Star fangirl like I am, is that he never apologized for the video that he made 12 years ago. I didn’t think that was true but I didn’t know of a place that I could definitively say “yes he apologized” only that as many people say he apologized as say he didn’t – it was all really just word of mouth.

Jeffree Star addresses accusations that he is a racist because of a video he made 12 years agoI’m glad I grew up before Youtube and camera phones existed

One of the things that is mentioned in the above video is something that I’ve always felt about this situation, that is that everyone does stuff that they regret once they know better. Some of us are old enough that we do not have videos following us around for the rest of our lives. I’m only 5 or 6 years older than Jeffree is but that span of time was enough to make a lot of my crazy, drunken, early 20s antics safe from being preserved for posterity. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt video and photos of me that I would regret would be on the internet if I were 26 right now instead of 36, so I always empathized with that aspect of this story because I am not the person that I was 10 years ago or 15 years ago so I understood that who he is as a cosmetics creator is not who he was when he was an entertainer on Myspace doing whatever he felt would get the most controversy and views.

Does apologizing make it ok?

No. An apology doesn’t erase what is done but I think that it’s something to pay attention to. Jeffree released a video on YouTube June 20th to finally address those videos and how he feels about them today. I think it is worth watching. He owns up to his actions, acknowledges that they were “vile”, explains that he was angry and looking for attention but also expressly states that he knows that is not an excuse. Truthfully, he is doing fine and making tons of money so he did not have to make a video addressing this but you can tell that the situation hurts him.

I don’t care I won’t ever support him because of what he did, period

That is your right. I know there are people out there who will say I am a racist for supporting Jeffree but that is not accurate. I think he made a mistake and has learned from it and apologized – something that many celebrities never do for the horrible things Jeffree Star Alternative Press Magazine cover and Summer 2016 Collection Velour Liquid Lipstick Limited Editionthey say/do. I think that Jeffree is scapegoated. There are plenty of other CEOs and companies with racist practices that actually exploit minorities but no one is boycotting them because it’s easy to not buy lipstick online – it’s a lot harder to not shop at Wal-mart (which I do not) because they keep people in poverty and to not buy oranges because they use undocumented migrant workers. I could list hundreds of examples but I won’t.

Makeup has no race or gender

The one thing that I loved the first time I discovered Jeffree Star Cosmetics was how the website had swatches on different skin types. That has become more common especially with independent makeup companies but mainstream makeup is still really marketed to white women. The entire industry is racist frankly. To not show swatches on several different skin types is indicative of that. We have been having discussions in feminist circles for decades about lack of representation of women of color, of the use of their bodies to sell products, of them being used like props in videos for people like Taylor Swift. I can remember when the only model of color was Naomi Campbell. It hasn’t really gotten that much better in the last 20 years. I honestly never thought that I would see a man in an advertisement for makeup.

Jeffree Star and Nikita Dragun in the Velour Liquid Lipstick Holiday 2016 collection with limited edition color SaggitariusBottom line it’s the best liquid lipstick on the market

I have seen lots of stuff about Jeffree’s products being crappy but that has not been my experience. I actually didn’t use lipstick every day until I tried the Velour Liquid Lipsticks because they don’t have to constantly be reapplied. I love the products, I have never had any trouble with any of them. Like any brand, some stay for longer than others, but they are not drying, only the very lightest shades are patchy, and they are well worth the $18 price point.

I have disabled comments on this post because I don’t want a bunch of hate and “Your [sic] a racist” comments from people who don’t bother to actually read what I have written. If you want to send me hate you can easily find me on social media.

