JaclynHillxMorphe Jaclyn Hill Morphe palette honest review and swatches

Jaclyn Hill x Morphe The Good, The Bad, and The Fallout – An Unbiased Fan Review

JaclynHillxMorphe palette Jaclyn Hill Morphe palette honest fan review with swatchesAnyone that follows me on Instagram knows that I have been excited about this palette since a release date was FINALLY announced! Jaclyn Hill was one of the first YouTubers I ever watched and subscribed to and I have never understood all of the hate that she gets. I think she is pretty and sweet. I wanted Champagne Pop but it always ended up that I didn’t have extra money for makeup when it came out so I was determined to get the JaclynHillxMorphe palette.

Please note that if you just attack me and have not even bothered to watch the live swatching before you tell me I “swatched wrong” or if you call me names or use profanity your comment will be deleted and I will block/ban you from all my social media. You do not have to agree with me but we all need to be respectful of each other as human beings with feelings and different experiences.

Jaclynhillxmorphe palette so much hype is it worth it?

JaclynHillxMorphe Jaclyn Hill Morphe palette honest review and swatchesOnce I saw Jaclyn’s video I knew for sure I was buying the palette, no matter what. Like, makeup before food if necessary! Jeffree Star also reviewed it and liked it, I was seeing all of this mind boggling swatches from influencers – many of whom got the palette for free and reminded everyone to use their Morphe discount code when purchasing. I used Jaclyn’s.

I don’t think anyone had any idea that they would sell 200,000 units in 45 minutes. I was online at 10am (8am pacific time) had it in my cart by 10:04, like I said I was determined to get it. I was very lucky, I got a shipment notification later that day and my palette shipped quickly. I know a couple people who are still waiting!

the colors in the jaclyn hill morphe palette do not look like the swatches

I have to be honest. I used the palette for two looks that I wasn’t happy with and then I did a tutorial for the sunset inspired look that I also wore in my YouTube first impression review. My main problem was that the colors didn’t look on my eyes anything like they looked on my arm when I swatched them. I decided that I would swatch the colors with a brush during my review, something I have never done before.

I was really shocked by the results! Halfway through the first row of colors, I realized I needed to put a finger swatch next to each brush swatch to show the difference – because it was HUGE. For the most part, the colors applied with a brush look nothing like how the colors look in a swatch applied with a finger. You can watch my live swatches in my Youtube video. If you’re only interested in photos, those are below the video.

Swatches of the jaclynhillxmorphe palette with brush and finger swatch

On each swatch, I have listed the color name and indicated which swatch was made with a brush and which one was made with a finger. You can watch me live swatch these in my Youtube video above. After I swatched them on camera, I snapped a picture. I will also note that my palette did not come with an insert listing the colors names, I emailed Morphe but as of today have gotten no response. I did see that they had tweeted an apology and a link but not responding to emails is very bad customer service in my opinion. I will update if I ever receive an email reply. Update: I never received an email but I did receive in the mail today (7/05/17) a postcard with the color names on one side and a photo of Jaclyn with the palette on the other. I think it was outstanding customer service to just go ahead and mail those out to everyone. I’m happy to have received it. Thank you, Morphe! I am pretty sure that these color names are correct but I was going back and forth between the image Morphe tweeted and my palette so if any are mixed up please let me know!

The top or first row of colors has the shades: Enlight, Beam, Silk Creme, M.F.E.O., Faint, Sissy,Β  and Little Lady. Enlight is very shimmery and in real life it looks about the same as Beam just more shimmery. The color in this row that most disappointed me in brush versus finger swatch was Little Lady. It is stunning when applied with a finger but is not very impressive with a brush. Sissy also looks more like a foil shadow, I will try these shades with my Makeup Geek foil brush and report back on whether or not they do better with a foiled shadow brush. Both also took quite a bit of blending back and forth to get even color.

JaclynHillxMorphe Palette Jaclyn Hill Morphe palette honest fan review and swatches

The second row of shadows contains the shades: Creamsicle, Butter, Pooter, Pukey, Hunts, Firework, and Queen. Out of all these shades, it is again the foil looking shade, Queen, that I find most disappointing in brush vs finger swatch. Queen and Firework were both very patchy and I did have to rub my brush back and forth quite a bit to get the color more even. The mattes in this row are better looking and better quality than the shimmer shades although there was quite a bit of “kickback” in the pan from picking up the shades – only Hunts had fallout when applied.

JaclynHillxMorphe Palette Jaclyn Hill Morphe palette honest fan review and swatches

The third row of the palette is eyeshadow colors: Obsessed, S.B.N., Hillster, Roxanne, Jacz, Buns, and Cranapple. My least favorite color in this row is Buns it goes on really patchy and had a lot of fallout. Out of all the rows, these colors had brush and finger swatches that were the most similar. I did find that the reddish orange colors stained my skin after just a couple minutes wearing them so I am interested to see what happens after a whole day of wearing them on my eyes!

Jaclyn Hill Morphe palette honest fan review and swatches JaclynHillxMorphe Palette

In the fourth row of eye shadow colors we have: Royalty, Twerk, Hustle, Meeks, 24/7, Chip, and Mocha. Chip was awful with fallout, you can actually see all the fallout on my arm from the finger swatch but that is because I went in with my finger after using the brush. That fallout was due to using the brush. 24/7 was the most disappointing one in this row from finger vs brush swatch differences but Hustle was disappointing with both. If you watch the live swatching in my video, you can see that I actually went back in to Hustle with the brush because it wasn’t showing up on camera at all with the first try.

Jaclyn Hill Morphe palette honest fan review and swatches JaclynHillxMorphe Palette

The last row is the most pigmented with the exception of Diva which I did have to go back into in order to make it show up. The last row colors are: Pool Party, Jada, Diva, Enchanted, Central Park, Soda Pop, and Abyss. Out of all of the swatches, Jada was closest to the same color with brush and finger swatching. The darkest colors had a good bit of fallout which is not a good thing when you’re putting them on your eyelids! These colors also left stains on my skin after swatching.

Jaclyn Hill Morphe palette honest fan review and swatches JaclynHillxMorphe Palette

My overall first impression of the jaclyn hill x morphe palette

Jaclyn Hill Morphe palette honest fan review and swatches JaclynHillxMorphe Palette This palette is good but not great. Some colors are just ok but some colors are very nice which leaves me with “good” for an overall. I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars. The mattes are easier to work with and more pigmented than shimmery and metallic shades. I think that if rather than going with the giant Morphe palette they had done a palette half this size like the Kathleen Lights x Morphe palette and just chose the best colors out of these 35 that it would be a much stronger palette.

I think the palette is priced too high for what it is. As I state in my video review, the palette is cardboard which makes it less durable than most of my other (even drugstore priced) palettes. The message from Jaclyn to her subscribers is just glued onto the top of the palette and you can see the glue marks. You can easily see that in my photo to the left. For packaging I give it 1 out of 5 stars. I have used the palette 4 times now and it already has a stain on the outside because it is white cardboard. If it were plastic that would wipe off rather than staining. You are unfortunately paying for Jaclyn’s name and I think if it were closer to the normal Morphe price point it would be a much better value. I think that Morphe could have and should have offered free shipping on this palette, in my opinion $75 to get free shipping is excessive and much higher than the industry standard.

I am disappointed in jaclyn hill x morphe because it was overhyped by influencers

I think my expectation of this palette was too high, but it was high based on all the video reviews I watched. Seeing the swatches that Jaclyn had in her reveal, that Jeffree Star did, that MannyMua did, I was expecting a palette that was on the same level of higher end products like Tarte Tarteist Pro and Anastasia Beverly Hills. Morphe is not a high end brand, they are closer to a drug store brand. When I compare this palette to Makeup Revolution or Catrice, which are more similar brands, it is relatively the same quality. I was expecting a prestige level product based on all of the reviews and the influencer swatches and that led to me having unrealistic expectations as to what this palette should look like.

The bottom line on the jaclyn hill x morphe palette, should you buy when it restocks?

I think whether or not you love this palette depends on who you are. If you have many high end palettes, as I do, you might want to skip this. If this is going to be your most expensive, high end palette, as is the case with many people I’ve talked to about it, you will not be disappointed. I think either way you should go into it expecting it to be a medium-quality product. It’s a step up from a drugstore product but it is not going to beat your prestige quality products. I’m not even going to mention very high quality products like Viseart or Natasha Denona here because clearly it’s not even in the same universe with super high quality palettes. It is what it is. I think you will enjoy it and not be disappointed in it as long as you are not expecting it to blow your mind.

I feel like it’s necessary to say – I still love Jaclyn, I am still a fan. I have not unsubscribed from her YouTube or unfollowed her on any social media. I will support her future collabs, I just will not be buying any Morphe products in the future because for me, the quality isn’t there.

Leave a Reply

