Makeup Revolution Brand Review

Makeup Revolution is a London-based cosmetics brand that is carried in Ulta stores and on Ulta’s website. You may have noticed the display in your local Ulta store, it has gotten larger over the last couple years and rightfully so! It’s a drugstore priced brand with the quality of prestige makeup. They have also gotten some negative attention recently for their “dupes” of brands like Too Faced and Kat Von D.Β  The photo on the left is only a portion of my Makeup Revolution collection and I want to talk about some of my favorite items from the brand.

It should be noted that their full line is only available on their Tam Beauty websiteΒ  but they do offer free shipping to the US with a $40 purchase which is better than some US-based brands offer! I started getting really enthusiastic about the brand when I purchased the Newtrals vs Neutrals palette. It is full of warm toned browns, reds, and oranges, and at $12 it is a steal – not to mention that MUR is frequently on buy one get one 50% off deals at Ulta. I had tried other eyeshadow palettes from them in the past but the Essential Day to Night Redemption Eyeshadow Palette was unimpressive and it ended up shoved in the back of my makeup organizer. The swatches that I saw of New-trals vs Neutrals made me want to take a chance, even though I had found that the previous eye shadow was not very pigmented and a little dry. The Newtrals vs Neutrals palette was nothing like the one I had tried before! The colors were beautiful and well pigmented for a low priced brand. No, it is not the same quality as a $40 or $50 palette but that shouldn’t be expected from a $12 palette. On the request of some instagram followers, I swatched the palette.

Makeup Revolution Newtrals vs Neutrals paletteThis is a great palette for fall. Warm toned neutrals are still extremely popular and I don’t see that popularity waning any time soon! I had purchased the Iconic Pro 2 eyeshadow palette around the holidays but had forgotten about it because I had also purchased the Tarte Tarteist Pro palette and a bunch of Makeup Geek singles around the same time. I decided that I needed to give the Iconic Pro 2 a chance to wow me and I was not disappointed. It is also $12 but remember with BOGO 50% off if you purchase these at the same time one would be $6. The Iconic Pro 2 is cool toned shades with browns, grays, plus a bold blue and golden green thrown in. Both of these palettes are a mixture of shimmery shades and matte shades that make themMakeup Revolution Iconic pro 2 palette swatches both great choices if you’re new to makeup or are just starting to expand your collection but have to stick to a budget. Remember that I’m very pale, typically using the lightest of any foundation, so some of these lighter colors will “pop” a lot more on someone with darker skin.

The real standouts in the brand are the Skin Kiss highlighters, although the baked highlighters are also an incredible value! The Skin kiss highlighters are hands down my favorite highlighters, I reach of them before Makeup Revolution Skin Kiss Highlighterany of my more expensive highlighters by Smashbox and Lorac. The Skin kiss are available in three super pigmented shimmery shades, Peach Kiss, Gold Kiss, and Ice Kiss. I haven’t yet added Ice kiss to my collection but I definitely will at some point. These are HUGE, the size of a Jeffree Star Skin Frost, and at $9 anyone can afford one.

I also purchased the Ultra Blush and Contour palette in shade Sugar & Spice. It’s a variety of pink, rose, and nude blushes in matte, shimmer, and baked finishes. A little of these goes a LONG way. They are super pigmented and the baked shades are mixture of blush and highlight. There are some warm and some cool tones in this so if you, like me, are just getting into wearing blush on a daily basis this is a great palette to start with. It retails for $10 on Ulta’s website.

It can’t all be perfect though. From my first photo, you may have noticed that I only have two lipsticks. At $5, the Salvation Velvet Lip Lacquer makes it easy to buy less traditional colors like the purple shade Depravity, but these have no staying power. The wear off easily and while many MUR products have 4-5 stars on Ulta’s website you will see most of their liquid lipsticks and lip kits have 3 stars or less. The Salvation Intense Lip Lacquer is not much better when it comes to long-wear, you will be reapplying these throughout the day even if you do not eat or drink. If you have a meal, they will absolutely be gone.

Overall, the Makeup RevolutionΒ  brand is continuing to make better and better products. They seem to have their finger on the pulse, knowing what is hot right now and which popular products will tempt makeup lovers into trying a low priced dupe. Do you have a favorite MUR product? What has your experience with the brand been like? Comment and let me know!

Makeup Revolution Blushing Hearts Blusher

Leave a Reply

